School of Mathematics

Contact

Contact details for the School of Mathematics.

Contact Information

For all application related queries (including changes to your application,

submitting evidence of qualifications etc):

Contact the College Admissions and Recruitment Team here: 

undergraduate or postgraduate taught enquiries.

Telephone: 0131 650 5737

For queries from students at the pre-application stage or offer holder stage:

e.g. Entry requirements, Visiting the School, Offer Holder Visit Days, Scholarships

Undergraduates please contact: ug-enquiries@maths.ed.ac.uk

Telephone: 0131 650 8575

Postgraduate Taught, please contact the relevant email from the list below:

Operational Research – ormsc@ed.ac.uk

Statistics – statsmsc@ed.ac.uk

Computational Applied Mathematics – cammsc@ed.ac.uk

Computational Mathematical Finance – cmfmsc@ed.ac.uk

Financial Modelling and Optimization – fmomsc@ed.ac.uk

Telephone: 0131 650 5390

Interested in applying for one of our undergraduate or postgraduate taught programmes?

 

Undergraduate programme information

Postgraduate taught programme information

Are you a current undergraduate or postgraduate taught student? 

Please contact the Mathematics Teaching Organisation

Webpages for current students

Postgraduate Research

 (PhD)

 

For questions about entry requirements and the application process, please contact:

pgresearch@maths.ed.ac.uk

Telephone: 0131 650 5085

Any other enquiries

queries@maths.ed.ac.uk

Telephone: 0131 650 5060

Postal Address
School of Mathematics
University of Edinburgh
James Clerk Maxwell Building
Peter Guthrie Tait Road
Edinburgh
EH9 3FD

 If you are unsure whom to contact regarding your enquiry, please do not email multiple addresses but email the general enquiries address only, and your enquiry will be forwarded to the appropriate person.

Key contact personnel

Management and Operations (including Finance, HR, Estates)

Head of School

Professor Iain Gordon

0131 650 5062

hos@maths.ed.ac.uk

Director of Professional Services

Chris Jowett

0131 650 5061

chris.jowett@ed.ac.uk

Research & Finance Administrator

Dr Jill Douglas

0131 650 6568

jill.douglas@ed.ac.uk

School Staffing Support Officer Sharon Greig 0131 650 5247 sharon.greig@ed.ac.uk
School Operations Administrator Aneta Bos 0131 650 5059 aneta.bos@ed.ac.uk
School Operations Administrator Octavia Morgan 0131 650 5048 octavia.morgan@ed.ac.uk

Mathematics Teaching Organisation (MTO)

Teaching Organisation Manager

Alice Heatley

0131 650 5043

alice.heatley@ed.ac.uk

Deputy Teaching Organisation Manager (Undergraduate) 

Jill Timmins

0131 6505767

jill.timmins@ed.ac.uk

Deputy Teaching Organisation Manager (PGT) Annabelle MacInnes 0131 651 7761 Annabelle.MacInnes@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 1)

Louise Durie

0131 650 5050

l.durie@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 1) Frances Reid 0131 650 4883 f.c.reid@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 2)

Martin Delaney

0131 650 6427

martin.delaney@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 3) Sarah Mcdonald 0131 650 4885 sarah.a.mcdonald@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 4 & 5)

Alison Fairgrieve

0131 650 5045

alison.fairgrieve@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Programmes Administrator (PGT) Gemma Aitchison 0131 650 5386 Gemma.Aitchison@ed.ac.uk

Teaching & Learning, Student Support, Outreach

Director of Teaching

Dr Stuart King

0131 651 7032

S.King@ed.ac.uk

Deputy Director of Teaching (Curriculum)

Dr Richard Gratwick

0131 651 3411 r.gratwick@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Teaching (Resources) Dr Heather Yorston 0131 650 5067 heather.yorston@ed.ac.uk

Senior Personal Tutor (Undergraduate)

Dr Max Ruffert

0131 650 5039

m.ruffert@ed.ac.uk

Senior Personal Tutor (Taught Postgraduate)

Dr Burak Buke

0131 650 5840

b.buke@ed.ac.uk

Student Learning Advisor

Dr Pamela Docherty

0131 650 7151

p.docherty@ed.ac.uk

Student Learning Advisor Maria Tovar Gallardo 0131 650 8598 maria.tovar@ed.ac.uk

Mathematics Engagement Officer

Dr Francesca Iezzi

0131 650 5842

Francesca.Iezzi@ed.ac.uk

Recruitment Officer

Grace Sansom

0131 650 8598

Grace.Sansom@ed.ac.uk

International Recruitment Officer Lynsey Smith 0131 650 5390 lynsey.smith@ed.ac.uk

Research

Director of Research

Professor Ivan Cheltsov

 0131 650 4881

 i.cheltsov@ed.ac.uk

Research & Finance Administrator

Dr Jill Douglas

 0131 650 6568

 jill.douglas@ed.ac.uk

For contact details for Heads of Research Groups, please refer to the respective research group pages.

Graduate School of Mathematics

Director of Graduate School

Dr Martin Dindos

0131 650 6758

M.Dindos@ed.ac.uk

PhD Admissions Advisor

Dr Tibor Antal

0131 651 7672

Tibor.Antal@ed.ac.uk 
PhD Student Advisor Dr Aram Karakhanyan 0131 650 5056 aram.karakhanyan@ed.ac.uk
Graduate School Manager Katy Cameron 0131 650 4899 katy.cameron@ed.ac.uk

Graduate School Administrator

Tatiana Chepelina

0131 650 5085

t.chepelina@ed.ac.uk 

CDT Administrator Isabelle Hanlon 0131 650 5955 i.hanlon@ed.ac.uk

Computing and IT Support

Maths IT Helpdesk

 

0131 650 5100

support@maths.ed.ac.uk

Maths Website Technical Support

 

 

webadmin@maths.ed.ac.uk