School of Mathematics


Contact details for the School of Mathematics.

Contact Information

For queries from prospective students (UG and MSc):

e.g. Entry requirements, Visiting the School, Offer Holder Visit Days, Scholarships

Telephone: 0131 650 5390

Interested in applying for one of our undergraduate or postgraduate taught programmes?


Undergraduate programme information

Postgraduate taught programme information

Information for current Mathematics students

Current Undergraduate Students

Current Postgraduate Students

Postgraduate Research



For questions about entry requirements and the application process, please contact:

Telephone: 0131 650 5085

Any other enquiries

Telephone: 0131 650 5060

Postal Address

School of Mathematics

University of Edinburgh

James Clerk Maxwell Building

Peter Guthrie Tait Road



 If you are unsure whom to contact regarding your enquiry, please do not email multiple addresses but email the general enquiries address only, and your enquiry will be forwarded to the appropriate person.

Key contact personnel

Management and Operations (including Finance, HR, Estates)

Head of School

Professor Bernd Schroers

0131 650 5055

Director of Professional Services

Chris Jowett

0131 650 5061

School Operations Manager

Dr Jill Douglas

0131 650 6568

School Staffing Support Officer Sharon Greig 0131 650 5247
School Operations Administrator Thea Bailey 0131 650 5059
School Operations Administrator Denise Lo 0131 650 5048
School Operations Administrator Inge Erdal 0131 650 5872

Mathematics Teaching Organisation (MTO)

Teaching Organisation Manager

Stuart Fitzpatrick

0131 650 5767

Deputy Teaching Organisation Manager  Luke Caudrey 0131 651 7761

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 1)

Louise Durie

0131 650 5050

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 1) Frances Reid 0131 650 4883

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 2)

Martin Delaney

0131 650 6427

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 3) Greta Mazelyte 0131 650 4885

Teaching Programmes Administrator (Year 4 & 5)

Alison Fairgrieve

0131 650 5045

Teaching Programmes Administrator (PGT) Gemma Aitchison 0131 650 5386

Teaching & Learning

Director of Teaching

Dr Richard Gratwick

0131 651 3411

Deputy Director of Teaching (Curriculum)

Dr Ben Goddard

0131 650 5127
Deputy Director of Teaching (Community) Dr Bruce Worton 0131 650 4884
Deputy Director of Teaching (Resources) Dr Robbie Bickerton 0131 650 5284

Deputy Director of Teaching (Students)

Dr. Paola Iannone

Student Support

Student Adviser Niamh McCrossan
Student Adviser Emily Harlo
Student Adviser Grace Wilson 0131 650 5355
Student Adviser Lewis Allan
Student Adviser Emily Stewart
Student Adviser Keira Burnett
Student Support Administrator Daniel McAteer


Mathematics Outreach and Widening Participation Manager

Dr Will Reynolds (maternity cover)

0131 650 5842

Student Recruitment

Student Recruitment Manager (Undergraduate)

Kat Fyfe

0131 650 5390

Student Recruitment Manager (Postgraduate) Lynsey Aitken 0131 650 5390


Director of Research

Professor Ivan Cheltsov

 0131 650 4881

School Operations Manager

Dr Jill Douglas

 0131 650 6568

For contact details for Heads of Research Groups, please refer to the respective research group pages.

Graduate School of Mathematics

Director of Graduate School

Dr Martin Dindos

0131 650 6758

Graduate School Manager Andrew Unwin 0131 650 4899

Graduate School Administrator

Gaye Ezgi  Kuyululu French

Graduate School Administrator Abigail Hastings

Business Development

Head of External Engagement Rosie Wilkie 
Business Development Executive

Maria Tovar Gallardo

Computing and IT Support

Maths IT Helpdesk


0131 650 5100

How to request IT support