School of Mathematics

Contact

Contact details for the School of Mathematics.

School of Mathematics

Street

James Clerk Maxwell Building
The King's Buildings
Peter Guthrie Tait Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3FD

Contact email addresses 

Undergraduate

For questions about entry requirements and the application process, please contact the College Admissions Office here: undergraduate or postgraduate taught enquiries

For all other questions, please contact: apply@maths.ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research (PhD) pgresearch@maths.ed.ac.uk
Taught Postgraduate (MSc) For MSc course contacts, please refer to the course information on the Maths MSc website.
Website technical support webadmin@maths.ed.ac.uk
Any other enquiries queries@maths.ed.ac.uk

 If you are unsure whom to contact regarding your enquiry, please do not email multiple addresses but email the general enquiries address only, and your enquiry will be forwarded to the appropriate person.

Key contact personnel

Management and Operations (including Finance, HR, Estates)

Head of School

Professor Iain Gordon

0131 650 5062

hos@maths.ed.ac.uk

School Administrator

Chris Jowett

0131 650 5061

chris.jowett@ed.ac.uk

Research & Finance Administrator

Dr Jill Douglas

0131 650 6568

jill.douglas@ed.ac.uk

Finance & HR Secretary

Karen Downie

0131 650 6568

k.downie@ed.ac.uk

School Operations Secretary

Marieke Blair

0131 650 5048

m.blair@ed.ac.uk

School Operations Secretary

Nicole Luu

0131 650 5059

Nicole.Luu@ed.ac.uk

Mathematics Teaching Organisation (MTO)

Administrator

Fiona Curle

0131 650 5043

f.curle@ed.ac.uk

Deputy Administrator

Kate Ainsworth

0131 651 7761

Kate.Ainsworth@ed.ac.uk

Examination Co-ordinator

Louise Durie

0131 650 5050

l.durie@ed.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant

Martin Delaney

0131 650 6427

martin.delaney@ed.ac.uk

MTO Secretary

Alison Fairgrieve

0131 650 5045

alison.fairgrieve@ed.ac.uk

MSc & EMS Secretary

Frances Reid

0131 650 4883

f.c.reid@ed.ac.uk

Teaching & Learning, Student Support, Outreach

Director of Teaching

 Dr Toby Bailey

0131 650 5068

t.n.bailey@ed.ac.uk

Deputy Director of Teaching

 Dr Stuart King

0131 651 7032 S.King@ed.ac.uk

Senior Personal Tutor (Undergraduate)

 Dr Max Ruffert

0131 650 5039

m.ruffert@ed.ac.uk

Senior Personal Tutor (Taught Postgraduate)

 Dr Burak Buke

0131 650 5840

b.buke@ed.ac.uk

Student Learning Advisor

 Dr Pamela Docherty

0131 650 7151

p.docherty@ed.ac.uk

Mathematics Engagement Officer

 Dr Mairi Walker

0131 650 5842

mairi.walker@ed.ac.uk

Teaching & Recruitment Development Officer

 Dr George Kinnear

0131 650 5052

G.Kinnear@ed.ac.uk

Research

Director of Research

Professor Jacques Vanneste

 0131 650 6483

 j.vanneste@ed.ac.uk

Research & Finance Administrator

Dr Jill Douglas

 0131 650 6568

 jill.douglas@ed.ac.uk

For contact details for Heads of Research Groups, please refer to the respective research group pages.

Graduate School of Mathematics

Head of Graduate School

Dr Joan Simon

0131 650 8571

j.simon@ed.ac.uk

PhD Admissions Advisor

Dr Pieter Blue

0131 650 5076

p.blue@ed.ac.uk

PhD Student Advisor

Professor Noel Smyth

0131 650 5080

n.smyth@ed.ac.uk

Graduate School Secretary

Mrs Gill Law

0131 650 5085

g.law@ed.ac.uk

Computing and IT Support

Maths IT Helpdesk

 

0131 650 5100

support@maths.ed.ac.uk

Maths Website Technical Support

 

 

webadmin@maths.ed.ac.uk