School of Mathematics


Showing news articles whose tags include: Tags: prizes

Andreia Chapouto awarded the Edinburgh Mathematical Society PhD Thesis prize 2023

Published: Tuesday, 31 October 2023 Tags: prizes

Our former student (and a current postdoc at the school), Andreia Chapouto, has been awarded the Edinburgh Mathematical Society PhD Thesis Prize 2023 for her outstanding thesis "Low regularity well-posedness of the modified ...

Leonardo Tolomeo awarded the Bernoulli Society's New Researcher Award

Published: Tuesday, 31 October 2023 Tags: Probability prizes

Leonardo Tolomeo has been awarded the Bernoulli Society's New Researcher Award for his outstanding work in probability theory. The Award Ceremony is planned during the 11th Bernoulli-IMS World Congress in Probability and Statistics, ...

Chris Sangwin awarded IMA John Black University Teaching Medal

Published: Thursday, 10 August 2023 Tags: Maths Education prizes

Prof. Chris Sangwin has been awarded the 2023 IMA John Blake University Teaching Medal. The Medal, introduced in 2020, is "awarded to an individual in recognition of their significant and sustained contribution to the teaching ...

PhD Student Ruoyuan Liu awarded Sir William Darling Memorial Prize 2023

Published: Friday, 4 August 2023 Tags: Graduate School prizes

Our 2nd year Ph.D. student, Ruoyuan Liu, under the supervision of Prof. Tadahiro Oh, has been awarded this year's Sir William Darling Memorial Prize. This university-wide prize is awarded to an individual or group of students ...

ICBS Frontiers of Science Awards 2023

Published: Tuesday, 18 July 2023 Tags: Algebra Analysis Geometry prizes

Dr Jonathan Hickman, in collaboration with Dr Larry Guth of MIT and former UoE PhD student Marina Iliopoulou, has been awarded a Frontier of Science Award (FSA) for his 2019 paper - Sharp estimates for oscillatory integral operators ...

Edinburgh Mathematical Society 2022 Impact Prize

Published: Thursday, 11 May 2023 Tags: Operational Research Optimization prizes

Congratulations to Chris Dent, Amy Wilson and Stan Zachary (Heriot-Watt) who were awarded the Edinburgh Mathematical Society's 2022 Impact Prize. The Impact Prize recognises "the contribution of individuals, teams or partnerships ...

EMS Impact Prize awarded to Edinburgh and Heriot-Watt trio

Published: Friday, 2 December 2022 Tags: Applied Mathematics prizes

The 2022 Edinburgh Mathematical Society Impact Prize has been awarded to Amy Wilson, Chris Dent, and Stan Zachary (Heriot-Watt) who together have had a huge impact in improving electricity supply. The EMS introduced the Impact ...

Adrián Doña Mateo awarded Robertson Medal

Published: Thursday, 17 November 2022 Tags: Geometry Topology Graduate School prizes

First-year PhD student Adrián Doña Mateo has been awarded the Robertson Medal for Science, Engineering and Technology by the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland. The medal recognizes Adrián as the outstanding ...

Xue Gong Receives SIAM and Edinburgh Teaching Awards

Published: Tuesday, 27 September 2022 Tags: Applied Mathematics Graduate School prizes

Xue Gong, a 4th year MAC-MIGS student, received an Outstanding Talk Award during the September SIAM Networks NS22 Workshop for her Lightning talk on "Generative Hypergraph Models and Spectral Embedding" (joint work with ...

Award-winning presentations from Isabella Deutsch and Torben Sell

Published: Monday, 26 September 2022 Tags: Statistics prizes

Congratulations to Isabella Deutsch and Torben Sell for their recent award winning presentations at recent ISBA (International Society of Bayesian Inference) conferences. At the 2022 ISBA World Meeting in Montreal Isabella was ...

RSS feed icon Subscribe to School of Mathematics news feed