School of Mathematics

Fox Prize success for Edinburgh Mathematics!

The IMA's Leslie Fox Prize is the pre-eminent worldwide prize for young researchers in the area of Numerical Analysis. 

The 18th Leslie Fox Prize was awarded in Glasgow on the 26th of June, with Aretha Teckentrup (School of Mathematics Lecturer and Alan Turing Institute Faculty Fellow) and Robert Gower (2016 PhD School of Mathematics graduate, currently working at Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris) each receiving a second prize.  Aretha presented a lecture on "Posterior consistency for Gaussian process approximations of Bayesian posterior distributions", while Robert discussed the work of his PhD Thesis on "Randomized iterative methods for linear systems".   Congratulations to Aretha and Robert!  

Other Fox Prize recipients in the School of Mathematics include Lecturers Kostas Zygalakis and John Pearson (due to start this autumn).