School of Mathematics

EMS Impact Prize awarded to Edinburgh and Heriot-Watt trio

The 2022 Edinburgh Mathematical Society Impact Prize has been awarded to Amy Wilson, Chris Dent, and Stan Zachary (Heriot-Watt) who together have had a huge impact in improving electricity supply.

The EMS introduced the Impact Prize in 2021 which recognises the contribution of individuals, teams or partnerships whose work in pure mathematics, applied mathematics, mathematical physics or statistics has had outstanding, demonstrable impact or influence in fields beyond the mathematical sciences.