School of Mathematics

Bubacarr Bah wins 2010 SIAM Student Paper Competition

Congratulations to Bubacarr Bah!

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) has selected the paper "Improved Restricted Isometry Constant Bounds for Gaussian Matrices" by Bubacarr Bah and Jared Tanner to be one of the winners in the 2010 SIAM Student Paper Competition. The SIAM  Student Paper Prize will be awarded during the course of the 2010 SIAM Annual Meeting to be held July 12-16, 2010 at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center (DLCC) in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The two other winners of the 2010 SIAM Student Paper Prize are Karin Leiderman (University of Utah) and Russell Carden (Rice University).  Members of the selection committee are Kelly Black, John Geddes, and Reza Malek-Madani.  Peter Turner, SIAM Vice President for Education,  chairs the committee.