School of Mathematics

Whittaker Colloquium Prof. K. Moffatt (Cambridge) (video + slides)

Prof. Keith Moffatt FRS, FRSE was an undergraduate student at Edinburgh 1953-1957, who subsequently was the Professor of Mathematical Physics at Cambridge, as well as Head of DAMTP and Director of the Newton Institute. He gave a Whittaker Colloquium at the School of Mathematics on 2nd October, 2017, introduced by Sir Michael Atiyah. 

The Whittaker Colloquium  is an annual lecture in the honour of Sir Edmund Taylor Whittaker (1873-1956) held at the School of Mathematics of the University of Edinburgh.

Previous Whittaker Colloquium speakers include: Sir Roger Penrose,  Andrew Blake, Edward Witten, Alain Connes, Janos Pintz, Endre Szemerédi, John Stillwell, Gunnar Carlsson, Robbert Dijkgraaf, Peter Kronheimer, Philip Maini, Richard Melrose, Terence Tao and Sir Christopher Zeeman.

For the video of the presentation, pdf of the slides and more information on Sir E. Whittaker and Prof. Keith Moffatt, please click here.

Keith and Michael.jpg