Wednesday 22 November 2017   Edinburgh
Home       Abstracts       Schedule      

About the workshop

The size of the linear systems that arise in optimization methods for large-scale problems is often a bottleneck for direct methods. In such cases, the use of well-suited iterative methods with specialized preconditioners can be vital to improve the efficiency of the optimization method. This workshop will consist of several presentations by leading researchers, with the aim of promoting an exchange of ideas to advance the state of the art in this area.


Wednesday 22 November, 2017.

Invited speakers

Prof Silvana Bocanegra  (Universidade Federal Rural de Pernambuco, Brazil).
Dr Alemseged Weldeyesus  (University of Edinburgh, UK).
Dr John Pearson  (University of Edinburgh, UK).
Mr Lukas Schork  (University of Edinburgh, UK).
Dr Margherita Porcelli  (University of Florence, Italy).


The workshop will be held in Room 6201 at the James Clerk Maxwell Building (JCMB) in the School of Mathematics, Peter Guthrie Tait Road, Edinburgh, EH9 3FD, Scotland.
Map of King's Buildings Campus.


Dr Alemseged Weldeyesus,   Email:
Prof Jacek Gondzio,   Email:

Direct enquires

Dr Alemseged Weldeyesus,   Email:


Participation is free of charge, but you are required to register for catering and organizational purposes. The deadline for registration is 2pm on Friday 17th November 2017.
To register, send an email to with your title, full name, institution and email address.

Registered attendees:

  1. Silvana Bocanegra (Universidade Federal Rural de Pernambuco)
  2. Maxence Delorme (University of Edinburgh)
  3. Mahdi Doostmohammadi (University of Edinburgh)
  4. Ivet Galabova (University of Edinburgh)
  5. Sergio Garcia Quiles (University of Edinburgh)
  6. Rodrigo Garcia (University of Edinburgh)
  7. Jacek Gondzio (University of Edinburgh)
  8. Andreas Grothey (University of Edinburgh)
  9. Carlos Guedes Filho (Federal University of Sao Carlos)
  10. Julian Hall (University of Edinburgh)
  11. Joerg Kalcsics (University of Edinburgh)
  12. Adam Kowalewski (AGH University of Science and Technology, Cracow)
  13. Marion Lemery (University of Edinburgh)
  14. Minerva Martin Del Campo Barraza (University of Edinburgh)
  15. Ken McKinnon (University of Edinburgh)
  16. John Pearson (University of Edinburgh)
  17. Margherita Porcelli (University of Florence)
  18. Spyros Pougkakiotis (University of Edinburgh)
  19. Justo Puerto (University of Seville)
  20. Lukas Schork (University of Edinburgh)
  21. Francisco Sobral (State University of Maringa)
  22. Alemseged Weldeyesus (University of Edinburgh)