Thursday 4th - Friday 5th June 2020   Edinburgh
Due to coronavirus uncertainty the workshop has been cancelled.
It will run at a later date.

About the workshop

The interest in Decomposition Methods in very large scale optimization has recently grown remarkably due to their application in diverse practical problems including machine learning, inverse problems in statistics and signal/image processing, energy, finance, telecommunication, optimal control, and many others. This workshop will consist of several presentations by leading researchers in the field, with the aim of promoting an exchange of ideas to advance the state of the art in this area.
The workshop will have a particular focus on Alternating Direction Method of Multipliers (ADMM).


Thursday 4th - Friday 5th June 2020.

Invited speakers

Prof Ewa Bednarczuk  (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland).
Prof Stefania Bellavia  (University of Florence, Italy).
Prof Daniela di Serafino (TBC)  (University of Campania, Italy).
Prof Jonathan Eckstein  (Rutgers University, USA).
Prof Mario Figueiredo  (University of Lisbon, Portugal).
Prof Yinyu Ye  (Stanford University, USA).

Poster session

We invite researchers including PhD students to present posters with their recent research results. The poster should be A0 in size, and although either orientation is acceptable, landscape is preferred. Please would you submit a draft of your poster (in pdf format) to Mr Kresimir Mihic ( before 2pm on Monday 18th May 2020. A decision whether your poster is accepted will be sent to you a few days later.


The workshop will be held at the Lecture Theatre (5.10) ICMS,
Fifth Floor, The Bayes Centre, 47 Potterrow, Edinburgh EH8 9BT, Scotland.
A map and travel information is available via the ICMS website at:


Prof Jacek Gondzio,   Email:
Mr Kresimir Mihic,   Email:
Mr Spyros Pougkakiotis,   Email:

Direct enquires

Mr Kresimir Mihic,   Email:
Mr Spyros Pougkakiotis,   Email:


Participation is free of charge, but you are required to register for catering and organizational purposes. Please complete this form. Registration closes 2pm on Friday 22nd May 2020.

Registered attendees:

  1. Miguel Anjos (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  2. Stefania Bellavia (University of Florence, Italy)
  3. Ewa Bednarczuk (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
  4. Daniela di Serafino (tbc) (University of Campania, Italy)
  5. Jonathan Eckstein (Rutgers University, USA)
  6. Mario Figueiredo (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  7. Jacek Gondzio (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  8. Michal Kocvara (University of Birmingham, UK)
  9. James Merrick (Geal Research, USA)
  10. Kresimir Mihic (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  11. Spyros Pougkakiotis (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  12. Audrey Repetti (Heriot Watt University, UK)
  13. Yinyu Ye (Stanford University, USA)