Current group members

Below you can find some information on the current postdocs and PhD students in my group.

Dr Miguel A. Duran-Olivencia

Miguel is a postdoc joint with Serafim Kalliadasis and Greg Pavliotis (Imperial College London), working on our EPSRC funded grant 'Statistical mechanics of soft matter: Derivation, analysis and implementation of dynamic density functional theories'. He is primarily working on dynamical density functional theory (DDFT) for anisotropic particles. In particular, he is focussing on the inclusion of inertia and hydrodynamic interactions in such models, which are crucial for describing a range of physical processes such as nucleation.

See Miguel's website for more details of his work and interests.

Tim Hurst

Tim is a PhD student at MIGSAA, the Maxwell Institute Graduate School in Analysis and its Applications, working jointly with me and Raffaella Ocone (Heriot-Watt University, Engineering). He started his PhD with me in 2016.

Tim did his first year extended project with me on non-adiabatic quantum molecular dynamics in two dimensions. He is now working on dynamical density functional theory for hard particles, which has a wide range of applications in the predictive modelling and analysis of industrial processes.

Rory Mills-Williams

Rory is working on the dynamics of suspensions of hard particles, in particular the inclusion of short-range hydrodynamic interactions (lubrication forces) in both particle-based methods and statistical mechanics. Rory is also interested in the rigorous analysis of DDFT equations. He is working jointly with me and Jin Sun (University of Edinburgh, Engineering). He started his PhD in 2015.