School of Mathematics

Postgraduate Research Student Essay Prize

The School of Mathematics has instituted a postgraduate research student essay prize.  The winners in its first year, with the subjects of their  essays, are

  • Tom Avery  'Measure monads and codensity monads';
  • Odysseas Bakas  'Higher dimensional variants of the classical  inequalities of Paley and Zygmund';
  • Igor Krylov 'Rationally connected non-Fano type varieties';
  • Xiling Zhang 'V-integrability and asymptotic stability of explicit numerical schemes for SDEs'.

They all gave short talks on their work following the presentation of prize certificates by the Head of School, Iain Gordon.

The image shows, The Head of School, Iain Gordon, and the four postgraduate research student essay prizewinners,  Xiling Zhang, Tom Avery, Odysseas Bakas and Igor Krylov.